The Major Cricket Tournaments in India



No other sport is as popular or as well-loved as cricket in India. With more than 1.3 billion population, the game of cricket receives its most spectators from India. Over the years, India National Cricket Team has won tons of cricket tournaments that include the 1983 Cricket World Cup, the 2011 Cricket World Cup, the 2007 ICC World Twenty20, and even the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy.

Cricket is well-loved in India. The game came into the country through the British colonial masters. But today, cricket is more popular in India than in Britain. India first participated in an international cricket event in 1877 when the nation’s cricket team was invited to play against the European teams. In recent years, India has produced international cricket superstars such as KS Duleepsinhji and Ranjitsinhji that play for the England cricket team. The apex cricket governing body in India is called “Board of Cricket Council in India (BCCI).

The love of cricket in India has also led to the established of various local and international cricket tournaments. Below, you will find a list of some of the major cricket tournaments in India.

Top 4 Major Cricket Tournaments in India

1. The Duleep Trophy

The Duleep Trophy is one of the most eagerly anticipated cricket tournament in India. The tournament is in the men’s category and it is named after Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji of Nawanagar (aka Duleep). Since the tournament was introduced, it has by won 18 times each by the North Zone and West Zone making them the most successful teams in the competition.

2. Deodhar Trophy

Deodhar Trophy started out as a zonal tournament back in 1973 but has grown to become an A-list competition in India. Deodhar Trophy is currently in its 46th edition. When the tournament was still in its old format, it was won by the North Zone making them the most successful team so far. The current champion is the Indian B team.

3. Vijay Hazare Trophy

Currently, on its 27th edition, the Vijay Hazare Trophy was named after Vijay Hazare, a well-loved Indian Batsman. This game has undergone a significant transformation in recent years. Tamil Nadu has won this particular tournament five times. The current tournament is being played by 28 state teams.

4. Indian Premier League

Indian Premier League was recently introduced by the Board of Cricket Council to revolutionize cricket in India and make it more appealing to the world. Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings jointly hold the record as the most successful teams in the Indian Premier League.

Final Words

There are other popular cricket tournaments in India such as the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, Irani Cup, and Ranji Trophy. There are also numerous tournaments in the women’s category. No doubt, cricket is loved in India. This is the reason why an average Indian is willing to spend on things such as quality cricket bat just for the love of the game.  No other sports receive much fanfare and support like the game of cricket enjoys in India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *